Recommendations for a newbie in 3d sculpting

Tips and WIPs for those brave souls pushing green stuff around in their homes.

Moderator: Col. Marbles' Command Crew

Recommendations for a newbie in 3d sculpting

Postby Brandlin » Wed Mar 13, 2013 10:49 pm

I'm looking for some recommended software for a newbie to try his hand at 3d sculpting.

I have a lot of qmechanical cad experience but never used the more 'artistic' packages.

The only sw I've heard of is z brush. Any good?
http://brandlin.blogspot.com/ - where inspired wargaming and modeling projects come to procrastinate
Brandlin

Postby AndrewGPaul » Wed Mar 13, 2013 11:18 pm

I asked on behalf of a friend recently:

Software for 3D modelling?
AndrewGPaul

Postby the_BADSMILE » Wed Mar 13, 2013 11:19 pm

yes it's nice. you can also try sculptris (from pixologic too), it's free and works well together with Zbrush.
the_BADSMILE

Postby Przemas » Wed Mar 13, 2013 11:47 pm

Sculptris will be a good start for sure when you're willing to try organic sculpting.
Then all depends on your budget.
If it's low you can try Silo. Not only you'll be able to do some freeform organic sculpting , but you'll have a chance to learn a lot about subd modelling (which is main focus of Silo).

When you'll decide you're fully into it Zbrush is propably the best choice - in fact it is the main tool in my workshop.

You can also try trial of 3D Coat. Build your base shape in voxel mode (which will ensure you have watertight solid) , then add some details in surface mode.
Przemas

Postby Crusoe the Painter » Thu Mar 14, 2013 12:16 am

You can also try blender, which has added subdivision sculpting like Zbrush, and sculpting like Sculptris in the latest version.
3d-miniatures.com
Crusoe the Painter

Postby Crusoe the Painter » Thu Mar 14, 2013 12:19 am

Info page

http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Dev:R ... _Sculpting