Sculpting Tips - Q&A

Tips and WIPs for those brave souls pushing green stuff around in their homes.

Moderator: Col. Marbles' Command Crew

Sculpting Tips - Q&A

Postby AKULA » Sat Dec 03, 2011 2:04 pm

Following Nigel's suggestion, I've started this thread for budding sculptors to stick their questions, and get them answered.

Can I suggest that we limit this thread to two types of posts:

1) Questions about sculpting
2) Answers from sculptors

For once, if we avoid the usual off-topic posts, one word "good" type answers, and pictures of boobs (as nice as they can be), then this thread might become a useful resource, and be worth a "sticky".

:wink:
AKULA
Associate Member

Postby AKULA » Sat Dec 03, 2011 2:05 pm

Woodwose wrote:
Chris Elizardo wrote:
Voltan wrote:the detailing on the green stuff seems a bit soft but that's probably just the putty springing back as it cures.

It does that? so how do you prevent it? Just make the detailing deeper? I'm new to green stuff.

When its soft, it's slightly elastic. What I do is to leave it for 5 minutes before I work on it so that it stiffens very slightly, then about 15 minutes later I'll come back to it and touch up the detail again before it finally sets.
On things like the armour and sword I'd finish off by just paring back the edges with a scalpel to get it nice and sharp.
AKULA
Associate Member

Postby AKULA » Sat Dec 03, 2011 2:06 pm

Woodwose wrote:I made myself a sculpting "oven" which helps a lot to speed things up. It's a foot squre wooden box with a 60 watt bulb in it and a turntable in the bottom which holds 8 figures. I basically have a production line of figures, doing a bit of work on each one in turn and by the time I've got round to the first one again, it's ready for the next stage of sculpting.

Chris Elizardo wrote:I heard someone else mention a coffee can oven, now I know why they are needed.
AKULA
Associate Member

Postby Chris Elizardo » Sat Dec 03, 2011 3:26 pm